The Top 5 Dallas Cowboys Players of All Time

Few names in American Football are as recognized around the world as the Dallas Cowboys. Dubbed “America’s Team,” they might just be the most famous and widely supported NFL franchise in the world. Since their founding in 1960, the Cowboys have had 11 players inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Rather than simply discarding one hall of famer and listing the rest, this list considers all players, past and present, their vital statistics, the successes they bought the team, and their longevity. Bearing all that in mind, here is just one opinion on the greatest Cowboys players, in no particular order, of all time.

Tony Dorsett

The first of the Cowboys Hall of Famers on this list, Dorsett joined the Cowboys in 1977 and proved himself right from the start. Over the course of an exemplary career, Dorsett was selected for four Pro Bowls and three All-Pro teams. He also won the 1977 Offensive Rookie of the Year Award and helped the Cowboys win Super Bowl XII.

Randy White

During the 14 years he played for the Cowboys, Randy White was a defensive force to be reckoned with despite initially joining the team as a linebacker. Two seasons in, he made the switch and developed into the hall of famer fans remember him as today. The “Manster,” as he was known, earned nine Pro Bowl and nine All-Pro selections, and along with Tony Dorsett, he was part of the team that won Super Bowl XII, with White earning co-Super Bowl MVP.

Roger Staubach

Roger ‘The Dodger’ Staubach is widely regarded as the greatest Cowboys player of all time, an honor that he has more than earned. Known for his unconventional playing style and leading the Cowboys to many comeback victories, Staubach was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1985. He led the Cowboys to victory in two Super Bowl tournaments and five NFC championships.

Emmitt Smith

Emmitt Smith, the 2010 hall of fame inductee, boasts some of the most impressive statistics in all of NFL history, including the record for all-time rushing yardage, having run for 17,162 yards. His other accomplishments include 153 touchdowns, being selected for five All-Pro teams and eight Pro Bowls. He also played in three Super Bowls with the Cowboys and received honors for Super Bowl XXVIII.

Mel Renfro

In college, Mel Renfro was well known for his offensive talents. Tom Landry, the Cowboys coach at the time, made the bold decision to switch him to a defensive position where he made his mark on Cowboys history. He helped the Cowboys win two Super Bowl titles and entered the Hall of Fame in 1996.

These five players are by no means the only legends to have graced the Cowboys line-up over the years, and every season, new talent is being added to the team. You never know when the next Roger Staubach or Mel Renfro is going to begin their career. This season is no exception, so check the Dallas Cowboys schedule and make sure you’re watching those big name games when new players really have a chance to shine.